Silverstone GP circuit track day, days after GP washout

Home Forums Pure Petrolhead Track days Silverstone GP circuit track day, days after GP washout

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    r6ymy
    Participant

From 2000 to 2005 with a group of friends I was doing 6 track days a year, one a month through the summer. Then the group disbanded as people moved to different areas for work, one friend gave up after an accident at Brands, and I had to sell my bike due to financial constraints.
    So now that I’ve been biking again for the last 5 years, I’ve been thinking I’d like to see if I could still manage a track day.
    At the MCN show last year I met a friend on the Silverstone Yamaha Masterclass stand, Andy, who instructs for them. Andy tried to talk me into booking a Masterclass, they sound like a great day but they were too expensive for me. He then suggested booking a track day in the Black Friday sale, but I said I don’t have a suitable bike, so he said he could lend me one, and the decision was made.
    So I found myself at Silverstone on a damp and chilly Wednesday morning a couple of days after the MotoGP was rained off. I got there at 7AM, Andy was bringing the bike with another in his van but was delayed by traffic, so I went to sign on. I had been put into the Red group, which Andy said was rookies, and probably appropriate for me on a borrowed bike.
    As I looked around the garages in the Red area I could see a lot of very exotic looking bikes, all with tyre warmers, and some with piles of spare tyres, wets on wheels, and also a few BSB teams. Talking to one of the riders confirmed I was in the fast group, so I hastily made my way to the organisers to request a move to the novice group. Having done that I could see I was now in the company of a variety of road bikes, and felt slightly more comfortable, although still rather anxious.