NW200 Review ~ BBC

Home Forums Bike racing NW200 Review ~ BBC

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
  • #12734

    Plater secures North-West honours

    Steve Plater powered to Sperbike success at the North-West 200
    Steve Plater won the main Superbike race at the Kennedy International North-West 200.
    The race was shortened to three laps as the original running was abandoned when Cameron Donald came off his machine.

    Morecambe’s John McGuinness won the opening Superbike race which was also cut short after Bruce Anstey crashed.

    Anstey was not hurt and went on to take the 600 Supersport and the Superstock classes while Christian Elkin (250) and Oliver Linsdell (400/125) also won.

    It is understood Australian Donald sustained a broke collarbone in his accident on the coast road.

    McGuinness had been vying for a Superbike double but, on the final lap of the main event, he missed a chicane after being forced out by Guy Martin.

    It left Martin claiming runners-up spot with Michael Rutter third and McGuinness fourth.

    Anstey sat out the second Superbike race as his bike could not be fully repaired in time.

    Elkin, making his first appearance at the North West, pipped McGuinness in an exciting finish to the 250 during which both men were held up by backmarkers.

    Linsdell won the 400/125cc race on his 400 Yamaha with Michael Wilcox second and Robert Dunlop third.

    Superbike first race
    1. John McGuinness (Honda) – best lap time 123.01mph
    2. Bruce Anstey (Suzuki) 122.38
    3. Steve Plater (Yamaha) 123.38
    4. Guy Martin (Honda) 122.51
    5. Michael Rutter (Kawasaki) 122.09
    6. Ian Lougher (Honda) 122.08

    600cc Supersport
    1. Bruce Anstey (Suzuki) 118.41mph
    2. Steve Plater (Yamaha) 118.22
    3. Guy Martin (Honda) 116.51
    4. John McGuinness (Honda) 116.85
    5. Keith Amor (Honda) 116.72
    6. Ian Lougher (Honda)116.59

    1. Christian Elkin (Honda) 110.18mph
    2. John McGuinness (Honda) 110.19
    3. Darren Burns (Honda) 109.78
    4. Alastair Seeley (Honda) 109.71
    5. William Dunlop (Honda) 108.42
    6. Davy Morgan (Honda) 106.60

    1. Oliver Linsdell (Yamaha 400) 105.13mph
    2. Michael Wilcox (Honda) 102.85
    3. Robert Dunlop (Aprilia) 101.98
    4. Chris Palmer (Honda) 101.80
    5. David Marsden-Mygdal (Honda 400) 101.37
    6. Alex Hutchinson (Kawasaki 400) 100.64

    1. Bruce Anstey (Suzuki) 121.90mph
    2. Alastair Seeley (Yamaha) 121.03
    3. Guy Martin (Honda) 119.65
    4. Cameron Donald (Honda) 119.77
    5. Conor Cummins (Yamaha) 119.77
    6. Denver Robb (Suzuki) 119.17

    Superbike main race
    1. Steve Plater (Yamaha) 124.02mph
    2. Guy Martin (Honda) 123.66
    3. Michael Rutter (Kawasaki)123.53
    4. John McGuinness (Honda) 123.18
    5. Ian Lougher (Honda) 122.69
    6. Keith Amor (Honda) 121.57



Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.