I would like your comments on this one please

Home Forums Pure Petrolhead Speed cameras I would like your comments on this one please

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    XV16
    Participant

Speed cameras’ proper purpose…
    https://www.timesonline.co.uk/article/0,,59-1022780,00.html

Comments welcome on this article… Part of my on going crusade! TNX

Best Regards
    Stuart XV16

Please note that some of the comments and articles posted may not represent my views or the views of FORUM99 and its moderators.

HELP KEEP THIS FORUM ALIVE! Click the Make a Donation button in the top left hand corner.

imperialdata
    Keymaster

To outline what is in the link above, I have copied the text below (for those too lazy to click XV’s link!). It is in the ‘Letters to the editor’ section of The Times newspaper, March 2nd 2004:

Speed cameras’ proper purpose
    From Mr Kevin Shapland
    Sir, I am a former Metropolitan Police officer and now work as a consultant assisting the criminal justice system in general and the Police Service in particular to identify ways of increasing public confidence.

Everywhere I go in England and Wales I am acutely aware of how speed cameras (leading article, February 28) are undermining public confidence in the police and distracting from other areas of policing.

Speed cameras will not detect dangerous drivers or uninsured drivers or indeed those who still choose to drive whilst under the influence of drink or drugs.

It is public perception as opposed to the reality that has the greatest impact on confidence and the fact remains that the majority of people still view speed cameras as a means by the police to raise revenue.

More targeted use of speed cameras accompanied by appropriate publicity will greatly assist in increasing public confidence.

Yours faithfully,
    KEVIN SHAPLAND,
    (Partner),
    Media Outcomes,
    Brook House,
    Abbotts Close, Titchmarsh,
    Northamptonshire NN14 3AW.
    March 1.