Blasts From my Past – Yamaha RD250LC – Autumnal Adventures

Home Forums BikeMeet Cafe Blasts From my Past – Yamaha RD250LC – Autumnal Adventures

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Radar

Test passed, now for something quicker!

I passed my bike test back in the days when merely returning from your ride with a pulse was sufficient to get you through. Immediately I graduated from my cute, but somewhat beleaguered Honda CB100N to a much cooler (and quicker!!) Yamaha RD250LC. Picking one manic ride from the many I enjoyed on this fabulous bike is tough, but here goes…

36295068454_abc966cf20_z.jpg

Blasting back from the land of the Celts!

A superb week blasting around Cornwall in company with a mate on a Suzuki GS250T almost made the cut. However in the end I have decided to go for an epic ride back from Welsh border country to my home in the leafy suburbs of Birmingham. It was during the bone dry autumn of 1984. I had been to a club rally (whatever happened to The Centaurs MCC?) and I decided to ride back to Brum in company with a couple of mates: Neil on his 3 1/2 Moto Morini and Loz, who piloted the then ‘King of the Hill’ Kawasaki GPz1100A Unitrak.  Thinking about it now, thirty five years on, we must have looked an odd bunch to a knowing eye. A water cooled 2 stroke parallel twin, an air-cooled V twin and an across the frame DOHC four. At least all three were varying shades of red!