Steering wobble

Home Forums Motorcycle help wanted Steering wobble

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Marsha67
    Participant

I have a low speed steering wobble on my Honda CBR600. It has only done 9000 miles but has wobbled for the last 2000 of them. The garage has checked it over and says it is fine. Is there anything I can check (easily) as I am no mechanic?

Radar

Hi Marsha67 and welcome to the forum.
    Check these:
    1. Tyre wear. They might be legal but if quite worn this could affect the handling in the way you describe. My old FZ750 was very prone to this.
    2. Are the tyres correctly matched front to rear (and set to the correct pressure), ie same brand and type.
    3.Are the tyres the size specified in the handbook. Oversize tyres can give problems.
    4. Bar end caps – are they still fitted and are they the standard ones? These are dampers with a specific weight matched to the bike.
    5. Are you steering head bearings correctly tightened?
    6. Do you have hard luggage or a rack fitted? be careful with your weight distribution.
    7. Chain adjusters on the same mark both sides.
    8. Old tyres – are they the original 1998 items? Thes might have “gone off”. That is the compound has lost its original properties. Small cracks in the side wall can indicate this.

Hope this lot is of some help.

Welcome to the forum.

imperialdata
    Keymaster

Think Radar said it all there, but drop another message here if you want any extra help on his suggestions.

Gix
    Participant