custom bike build

Home Forums BikeMeet Cafe custom bike build

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    newk
    Participant

thought you might like an insight on what it takes to build a custom bike, now im not a proffesional builder just me in my garage with basic tools all my bikes are built to a budget normally around a grand and are by no means show winning bikes and will hopefully inspire some of you to have a go
    so the project starts with a 1980 z750r frame and a kawasaki zzr1100 engine and loom+front end wheels and shock for £350 , i then buy a complete cbr1000 for £150 005-3_zps13d1e301.png

newk
    Participant

1st job is to try and get the engine to fit in the frame , and suprise suprise it dont fit , i cut off all the engine mounts except the bottom rear lugs and the lower left hand cradle , now the engine goes in but i have to modify the engines lower mount to get the gearbox sprocket to line up with the swingarm and rear sprocket then make tenplates for the rest of the engine mounts013-1_zps695383da.jpg

BigBen
    Participant

Good work Newk, I’m on with a build too at the mo, let’s have a forum build off? ;)

newk
    Participant

elo ben wot u builing ?

BigBen
    Participant

PM sent as it’s a secret ;)

Radar

Looking forward to following this…and Ben’s big ‘reveal’ ;D

newk
    Participant

decided not to go with the zzr front and rear suspention and im using the cbr1000 the zzr were a bit short and the cbr rear end had a better shock and meant i could have matching wheels
    i had to make a new bearing cup to lenghen the headstock and get the bearings to fit properly and make new link arms for the rear suspention and space the shock over to align with frame and swing arm mounts
    016-1_zpsc8dbdba7.jpg

BigBen
    Participant

Newk how did you make your bearing cup?

Radar that makes me sound like some sort of flasher :p haha

Radar

Newk how did you make your bearing cup?